Optus Mobile Review ALDI Mobile Review Amaysim Mobile Review Belong Mobile Review Circles.Life Review Vodafone Mobile Review Woolworths Mobile Review Felix Mobile Review Best iPhone Plans Best Family Mobile Plans Best Budget Smartphones Best Prepaid Plans Best SIM-Only Plans Best Plans For Kids And Teens Best Cheap Mobile Plans Telstra vs Optus Mobile Optus NBN Review Belong NBN Review Vodafone NBN Review Superloop NBN Review Aussie BB NBN Review iiNet NBN Review MyRepublic NBN Review TPG NBN Review Best NBN Satellite Plans Best NBN Alternatives Best NBN Providers Best Home Wireless Plans What is a Good NBN Speed? Test NBN Speed How to speed up your internet Optus vs Telstra Broadband ExpressVPN Review CyberGhost VPN Review NordVPN Review PureVPN Review Norton Secure VPN Review IPVanish VPN Review Windscribe VPN Review Hotspot Shield VPN Review Best cheap VPN services Best VPN for streaming Best VPNs for gaming What is a VPN? VPNs for ad-blocking Let’s jump into everything I love about the ATH-CKS5TWs before delving further into the funky fit. My personal preference is an audio profile that emphasises lower frequencies with deep, thunderous bass. I’m not even a fan of EDM or drum and bass but I find that a warm bass profile keeps me engaged. For example, listening to Thom Yorke’s “Dawn Chorus”, a song that opens with a deep bassline and distorted keyboard, has more of an emotional punch for me when I’m listening with the ATH-CKS5TW earbuds than with something more skewed to mid and high-frequency audio. While I still think the more rounded sound profile of Sony’s WF-1000XM3 earbuds are the best option for most preferences (if you can justify the cost), Audio-Technica’s bassy buds have grown on me and if it weren’t for the severe discomfort I experience while wearing them, they’d easily be my personal pick. Those numbers are absurd. After testing so many wireless earbuds recently, I was blown away when my mate at WhistleOut told me they were getting an easy 24 hours of use out of the AirPods Pro buds. In comparison, those are rookie numbers. I’ve become so liberal with the ATH-CKS5TW buds that sometimes I’ll just leave them sitting loose on my desk (rather than fishing around for the charging case) and I’m still getting multiple days out of the buds alone. It’s only been a bit over a week since I started reviewing them but I haven’t had to charge the case once. I’m not someone who is all that bothered with having to charge my earphones every other night but I know that it’s a huge factor for a lot of people (especially people who work out most days) and you honestly couldn’t do better than Audio-Technica’s efforts in the true wireless space. The only thing the ATH-CKS5TWs don’t have is wireless charging, which is a bit of a drag but not uncommon with premium buds. The case will also take about 3.5 hours to charge which is at the lengthier end of the spectrum when it comes to true wireless but time-to-charge is usually relative to battery life anyway. My experience with touch controls on earbuds so far has been more trouble than it’s worth. Some are too sensitive, some aren’t sensitive enough. Often the reaction time isn’t fast enough for you to know whether it registered so you end up double or triple-tapping by accident. You know what you’re getting with good old fashioned physical buttons. Most true wireless earbuds these days also sport an IR or motion sensor that can tell when you’ve removed a bud and will pause what you’re listening to until replaced. It’s a great feature when someone asks you a question or calls out your coffee order and while it may not always be perfectly executed, it’s definitely a feature I’ve missed in the ATH-CKS5TWs. It sounds simple enough but when you’re in a rush, putting the buds back in their case can be a finicky and frustrating process. Far too often, I’ll just pocket the buds to save the hassle, but that’s bad news for anyone (like myself) who is prone to dropping and losing expensive tech. I tried a few different tip sizes but the pain became so bad in my left ear, I had to take a couple of days’ respite. Now every morning before I leave the house, there’s a moment as my hand hovers over the charging case and I ask myself, am I willing to pay the price for that sick, sick bass? Last week, it took more than 24 hours for the pain to subside. Like a new pair of shoes, I seem to be breaking the ATH-CKS5TWs in slowly; each time is a little easier on the ears but I haven’t found much difference between the packaged tips when it comes to comfort. It’s hard to mark down Audio-Technica for this as comfort and fit depend on the shape and size of your ears. However, the unique shape of the tips leads me to believe this is going to be a problem for a lot of people. They pass the peak-hour public transport test with flying colours. I’ve had no issue shutting it all out with an episode of The Ringer’s Binge Mode or Gimlet’s Heavyweight podcast. Call quality has also been a little hit and miss in my experience. Even in quiet environments, friends and family on the receiving end have always seemed relieved when I switch back to my iPhone’s inbuilt microphone. If you don’t have as much difficulty as I do finding a comfortable set of in-ear buds, then by all means, buy these bloody earphones. In fact, I’ve spoken to a couple of people who use them regularly and while they’ve admitted they can be uncomfortable, nobody I’ve spoken to has experienced the same level of lasting pain I have. Like a new pair of shoes, I feel like I’m starting to break the ATH-CKS5TWs in. Each time I wear them is a little easier than last. So who knows, maybe there’s still a future for me and Audio-Technica. I’m just not looking forward to finding out.

Audio Technica ATH CKS5TW Wireless Earbuds Review AU - 39Audio Technica ATH CKS5TW Wireless Earbuds Review AU - 77